Lifting of Spain’s Lockdown: See all Regions and their new Phase Status

Spain’s Health Ministry, Salvador Illa has announced the regions and provinces that move to a next phase from Monday 8 June in the four-phase de-escalation of lockdown restrictions. See full details of each region below…


Madrid moves to Phase Two on 8 June.

Madrid is the region that has been hit the worst by the Coronavirus pandemic. It had requested to move to Phase One for the whole region from Monday 11 May – and then again from Monday 18 May. On both occasions the permission was not granted. It finally moved to Phase One on Monday 25 May.


The healthcare zones of Camp de Tarragona, the western Pyreness (Alt Pirineu i Aran) and the Ebre region (Terres de l’Ebre) move to Phase Three on 8 June. They had been in Phase Two since Monday 25 May.

The healthcare zones of Girona, Catalunya CentralGarraf and Alt Penedés are in Phase Two (and have been since 1 June).

Barcelona city and its two metropolitan areas (north and south), as well as the area of Lleida move to Phase Two on 8 June.

Basque Country

The Basque Country has three provinces – ÁlavaVizcaya and Guipúzcoa.

The entire region moves to Phase Three on 8 June. The region had been in Phase Two since 25 May.


Andalusia has eight provinces – AlmeríaCórdobaCádizHuelvaJaénSevilleMálaga and Granada.

All areas move to Phase Three on 8 June.

Valencia region

Valencia region has three provinces – Valencia, Castellón and Alicante. The entire region is in Phase Two (since Monday 1 June).


Galicia has four provinces – LugoLa CoruñaOurense and Pontevedra. The whole region moves to Phase Three on 8 June.

Castilla y León

Castilla y León has nine provinces – LeónBurgosSalamancaZamoraSoriaValladolidPalenciaÁvila and Segovia. The whole region moves to Phase Two on 8 June.

Castilla La Mancha

Castilla La Mancha has five provinces  GuadalajaraCiudad RealCuencaToledo and Albacete.

The less populated provinces of Cuenca and Guadalajara move to Phase Three on 8 June.

Ciudad RealToledo and Albacete are in Phase Two (since 1 June).

Canary Islands

Canary Islands has two provinces – Las Palmas and Santa Cruz de Tenerife.

All the Canary Islands moves to Phase Three on 8 June.

The islands of La GomeraEl Hierro and La Graciosa had already moved to Phase Three on 1 June.


Aragón has three provinces – ZaragozaHuesca and Teruel. All provinces move to Phase Three on 8 June.

Balearic Islands

Balearic Islands is a ‘one province region’, with four islands. The island of Formentera moved to Phase Three from 1 June. MallorcaIbiza and Menorca move to Phase Three on 8 June.


Extremadura has two provinces – Badajoz and Cáceres. All the region moves to Phase Three on 8 June.

Asturias, Navarra, Cantabria, La Rioja and Murcia

These areas are all ‘one province regions’ and they all move to Phase Three on 8 June.

Ceuta and Melilla

The cities of Ceuta and Melilla are located in North Africa. They both move to Phase Three on 8 June.


What you can do in a Phase Two area

  • For walking and physical exercise – all citizens under the age of 70 can take walks and exercise during the day (as updated above). The time slot of 10am to 12 noon and 7-8pm is supposed to be reserved for people aged over 70.
  • Up to 15 people can now meet for social gatherings, either outside or in someone’s home (also at restaurant and bar terraces – see below), but social distancing measures should still be respected between people who do not already live together.
  • Up to 20 people can participate in nature tourism activities together.
  • Citizens are allowed to move freely within their province (or island), including to their second homes.
  • Shops and stores can open independently of their size, but with capacity limited to 40%. There should also be priority timetables for the over 65s.
  • Restaurant and bars can now re-open their interior dining areas, apart from nightclubs and music bars, provided capacity is limited to 40%. Eating inside can only take place if sitting at a table, or groups of tables, and ideally via prior appointment. Self-service at a bar is not permitted. Terraces for cafés and restaurants will continue at 50% of capacity.
  • Open-air markets are allowed with a third of normal stands.
  • Hotels and tourist accommodations can re-open their common areas, provided capacity is kept to 30%.
  • Cinemastheatresauditoriums and culture venues can re-open, provided that seats are pre-assigned and capacity is limited to 30%.
  • Open-air concerts are allowed, but the public must be seated, observing social distancing, with capacity at 30% and limited to 400 people
  • Places of worship can have 50% capacity.
  • Funerals can take place with a limit of 25 people if outside, and 15 people in closed spaces.

Whilst schools across Spain will officially not open again until September, Sánchez also said that from Phase Two of the easing of lockdown measures, some institutions might be able to open to host some face-to-face activities with students. Again, this will depend upon the progress of each region.

The activities could include ‘reinforcement lessons’, students sitting university entrance exams, as well as ensuring that children under the age of six can go to school if parents have to go to work and have no one to leave their children with.

Where students do attend schools during Phase Two, the groups will be limited to a maximum of 15 students.

Phase Three

Phase Three is the final phase and sees further measures relaxed before the ‘new normality’, as well as allowing more flexible and free movement across Spain and between regions. The use of face masks remains compulsory (as above).

All previous establishments above that had been allowed to open with a third capacity during the previous phases will now be able to increase to 50% capacity, depending on the overall progress in combating the pandemic.

Retail shops are also be allowed to have 50% capacity.

Outdoor cultural events can be held with a maximum of 800 people – yet still only seated and with social distancing measures in place. Concert halls and other venues are allowed to reopen, at a third capacity.

Beaches can finally officially reopen during this phase (as well as hotel communal areas, such as swimming pools) depending on the region and province. It is expected that securityhealth and on-going social distancing measures will still be put in place.

What do you think?

Written by vozAfric


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.



Creative African Hairstyle Inspiration by Nigerian Evans Oaikhena

CEO of Chocolate City wins N10 million lawsuit against Kaduna government